The User private backup area stores manual backups (mbz files) created by the user. The backups found in the User private backup area are created from the manual backup process by the user, as a teacher in a course. These backups are different from the automatic backups of AsULearn courses that Academic Technologies makes every night.
Many of these backup files are created to restore a course and may no longer be needed. These manually-created backups in the User private backup area will be kept for 30 days after they are created by the teacher. However, you can download these files from the user private backup area any time during that window if you wish to keep them.
From your course page, the User private backup area can be accessed by clicking the More option in the course menu along the top, then selecting Course reuse:
On the resulting Course reuse page, select Restore from the pull-down menu located at the top left:
Scroll down on the Restore course page and you will see the User private backup area and the list of all the course backups in this area.
Click on the Download link for the respective backup to download a copy of the backup file to your computer. The backup files will be in .mbz format, and their only use is to upload and restore back to AsULearn. It is strongly recommended that you backup and download the courses you teach each semester. If you have a course that you do not teach regularly, it is especially important that you have a local backup that you can upload and restore when the time comes.
You can also manually delete the backup files from this page by clicking the Manage backup files button, then clicking on the backup you wish to delete, then Delete.
If you have questions about the backup process or the User private backup area, please contact your CETLSS Instructional Design Specialist.