Introduction

Single View is a specialized view in your gradebook that can display all activity grades for a single student, or all student grades for a single activity. Single View also allows you to:

  • quickly edit grades for a single student or activity
  • bulk insert a specific value for all empty grade items
  • enter feedback comments
  • perform bulk overrides of grades, and
  • exclude grades from calculations. 

Video walkthrough of accessing and using the gradebook's Single view:


In this article

Click any action below to expand its instructions.

Accessing Single View in the Gradebook

1. Click Grades in the Settings Bar at the top of your course. 

2. Open the dropdown menu on the left side of the page (it likely says "Grader Report"), then select Single View.

3. Search for a student in the "Search users" bar, or click the Grade Items button and select an activity from the dropdown menu.

Navigation tip

You can navigate to the next or previous grade item or student using the links at the bottom of the Single view window.

Modifying grades in Single View

After selecting a grade item or a student you can edit grades, feedback, overrides, and exclusions.

Important notes

  • Editing must be turned on to make any changes in this view, including entering grades or feedback, and overriding or excluding grades.
  • You do not need to enable overrides for grade items you've manually created. 

1. In the Override column, select the check boxes for the items or students whose grades you wish to modify.

  • You can also use the Actions dropdown menu at the top to select Override all to make all grades editable.
  • Manually created Grade items do not require this step.

With edit mode enabled, check the Override box to override any student grade, or use the Actions menu to select Override all

Activities vs Grade Items

Activities in the gradebook (like quizzes, assignments, questionnaires, forums with whole forum grading enabled, etc) are most often graded insider the activity itself, but you can choose to override those grades from Single View instead. A Grade item you've manually added to the gradebook requires no override, since it is not connected to an activity in your course.

2. In the Grade and Feedback columns, enter or edit existing grades and feedback.

3. Click the Save button in the footer to save your grade changes. 

  • A confirmation message will appear. Click Continue to refresh the Single View grading page.

Overridden grades

When you return to the Grader Report, overridden grade items will be displayed with an orange background to indicate grades have been edited in the gradebook instead of in the activity. When you return to Single View (below right), there will be a check in the Override column as an indicator that you overrode those grades.

Orange highlight in grader report view indicates overridden grade   Checkbox in override column in Single view indication overridden grade
NOTE: If you enter mistaken grades and wish to start over, see Remove Overrides from Grade Items, below. 

Using Bulk Insert 

With Single View's Bulk insert grades feature, instructors can enter the same grade for multiple items or students. For example, you could use Single View to enter a zero score for any student who failed to attempt a course quiz. Here's a video walkthrough of this process, followed by a written step-by-step below:

1. Open the Single View for the activity in the gradebook with Edit mode on, use the Actions dropdown menu to select the Bulk insert grades.

In single view for an activity with edit mode on, use the actions menu to select Bulk insert grades

2. In the Bulk insert grades modal window that opens, tick the box confirming you understand that you'll lose unsaved gradebook changes on the page if you have made them.

NOTE: If you've made changes without saving them at this point, click Cancel, save your changes, then return. Once you tick the box, the window becomes editable. 

In the builk insert grades window, tick the I understand box, choose to override all or empty grades, and enter the value. Click save.

3. Click Empty grades, then insert the score you're assigning.

  • Selecting Empty grades means only students who do not have existing grades will be updated.
  • You could also select All grades if you needed to quickly give all students the same score for an activity or grade item.

4. Click the Save button to perform the bulk insert.

  • When you return to the Grader report, overridden grade items will be displayed with an orange background and marked “Overridden” to indicate grades have been edited in the gradebook.
  • NOTE: If you enter mistaken grades and wish to start over, see Remove Overrides from Grade Items, below. 

Excluding grades from category calculations

On the Single View page, you can also exclude grade items that would otherwise be included in grade calculations. This can be used to excuse a student from a graded activity, or to show students a grade for an activity such as a practice quiz that will not count towards their final grade.

A grade that is excluded:

  • Will not be part of the aggregation calculation that you have selected for the category
  • Will not be included for any "drop the lowest" category settings you have established
  • Will not be included in the Course Total

1. Open a Single View grading page for a grade item or student, as described above.

2. Open the Actions menu and select Exclude all to exclude that score for all students. You can also individually check the box (or boxes) in the Exclude column to exclude individual scores.

Use the actions menu to exclude all grades, or tick the boxes in the exclude column to exclude grades for individual students

3. Click Save button in the footer to save your changes. 

A confirmation message will appear.

4. Click Continue to refresh the Single View grading page.

When you return to the Grader report, excluded grades will be marked with a icon. The score will remain as a record, but will not be calculated into course or category totals.

To clear exclusions, return to the Single View grading page, uncheck the item(s) in the Exclude column, and click Save

Removing overrides from grade items

On the Single View page you can also remove overridden grades for grade items. This is especially useful if you've accidentally overridden values in a calculated grade item such as a category total.

1. Open a Single View grading page for a student or grade item, as described above.

2. With Edit mode on, open the Actions menu and select Override none.

You can also elect to simply de-check individual overrides in the Override column:

In single view with edit mode on use the actions menu to override none, or decheck the box in the override column for individual removal

3. Click the Save button in the footer to save your changes.

A confirmation message will appear.

4. Click Continue to refresh the Single View page.

Any grade items that were previously overridden revert to their previous value. If the previous value was blank, it will return to being blank. If there was previously a grade that was pushed to the gradebook from a course activity, that grade will reappear. If you've removed an override in a course or category total column, it will resume calculating the total grade. 

When you return to the Grader Report, items for which you cleared overrides will no longer be marked "Overridden" and the grade cells will no longer have an orange background.

Related Articles


Search Knowledge Base   

Submit a Service Request

We value your feedback! Click HERE to suggest updates to an existing article, request a new article, or submit an idea.