Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Teachers frequently have students compose drafts of assignments before having them submit the final version. In AsULearn, there are multiple ways to approach managing student drafts.

Retain copies of drafts in addition to the final version

As the Teacher, if you would like to keep a record of all the submitted drafts and the teacher feedback to each draft, follow these steps.

  1. From the main course page click the assignment to open it.

  2. Click the gear menu (top right) and select Edit settings (or when setting up the assignment initially)

  3. In Assignment settings, under Submission settings, set . . .


  • Require students to click the submit button: No
  • Attempts reopened: Manually
  • Maximum Attempts: select a number or Unlimited


With this model, Students can submit up to the specified number of Maximum attempts. Each attempt has a separate submission history and feedback. With the example settings above, one student may submit 2 drafts, and another student submit 7 drafts. When grading, the Teacher can set Allow another attempt to Yes (bottom of grading screen) to provide the student the opportunity to make another attempt, even after the maximum number of attempts have been submitted.


The Teacher and the Student can review all the attempts. At the bottom of the grading screen click the link View a different attempt, select the attempt, then click View


View drafts, but only retain the final submission

To be able to view drafts but not retain them (each Student submission replaces the previous), follow these steps.

  1. From the main course page click the assignment to open it.

  2. Click the gear menu (top right) and select Edit settings (or when setting up the assignment initially)

  3. In Assignment settings, under Submission settings, set

    • Require students to click the submit button: Yes

For the Student, when a file is uploaded it is automatically marked as a draft.

The Student must click the Submit button for the submission to be designated the final version.

In the screenshot below, a student has uploaded a file, which the teacher can view. The student can delete and replace the file or upload additional files before clicking the Submit assignment button. to submit the final version of the file(s). The Teacher will have access to the final submission, but none of the drafts. The Student can add a Comment about the submission before or after submitting it.


Search Knowledge Base


Submit a Service Request