Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

For instructions just on restoring once you have a course backup, follow these steps: 

See also Course: Import Content

Step-by-step guide

  1. From the course page, click the Restore link in the gear icon (top right).



  2. From this page you can Import a backup file to restore by uploading the backup file (.mbz file), then click the Restore button; or

  3. Restore a backup file listed in your Course backup area, User private backup area, or Automated backups: Select the backup file you wish to restore in the list, and then click on the Restore link to the right to begin the restore process.

  4. Check the backup details, then scroll down to click Continue at the bottom of the screen.

  5. You can Restore into this course (that you are currently in) or Restore into an existing course of yours. Select the option to either Merge the backup course into this/existing course or Delete the contents of this/existing course and then restore then click Continue.
    1. Merge is a good option for protecting any existing materials and content in the course and simply adding your backup file materials.
    2. Delete will erase everything first and then restore the backup file so only the restored content remains.
      restore options

  6. Scroll down to review the items to be restored, then click Next.

  7. Scroll down to click Perform restore; or click Cancel to abandon restoring the course.

  8. After waiting for the restore process to complete, a success message should display.

  9. Click Continue and you should see the content has been successfully moved into the destination course. 


Support Video



Search Knowledge Base


Submit a Service Request