Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To manage a Google Group, be sure you already have a Group created. If you do not, follow this guide to request a Google Group in the Appstate Domain: http://faq.appstate.edu/answers/requesting-creation-google-group. Once you have a Google Group created, see instructions below on roles, general information, basic permissions, moderation, and managing membership to your group.

Google Group Roles

Each Google Group has 3 roles: Owner, Manager, and Member. Please do not change the permissions associated with each role, but feel free to add additional managers if needed.  By default, a Help Desk account is added as a Manager of each Google Group in order to provide better support. Additionally ITS is set as the Owner of each group.

Where do I Manage my Google Group

  1. Login to MountaineerApps and then click on the the grid in the upper right corner and select Groups. Alternatively, you can go directly to Google Groups by navigating to groups.google.com in a web browser.
  2. Click My Groups and then select the group you want to manage in the list of your available groups.
    Note: If you do not see your groups, you may have to select where it says "switch your organization view to: appstate.edu" before continuing. 
  3. Once on the group, click Manage in the upper-right corner. You will see a list of management options on the left.

Confirm General Group Information

  1. From the Manage menu on the left, click Information > General Information. This will display your Group name, Group Email address (e.g., group-[name]@appstate.edu), and your website URL.

  2. Complete the Group Description at this time.

  3. If appropriate, set your Posting Options to allow people to post (i.e., send messages) by email and/or on the web.

  4. Make sure to click "Save" in order for your changes to be saved.

Setting or Modifying Permissions


  1. From the Manage menu on the left, click Permissions > Basic Permissions to adjust these settings:

To edit settings for Adding Members, Approving Members, Approving messages, Banning Users and more. Click Permissions > Moderation Permissions. 

Note: Only Managers and Owners can perform these actions by default.

Moderating Posts

Moderating Pending Posts

Approve or block new posts

You can turn on message moderation to approve or block messages before they’re sent to the rest of the group.

Turn on message moderation

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. Click My Groups.
  3. Choose a group.
  4. Near the top right, click Manage.
  5. On the left, click Settings > Moderation.
  6. Select your desired settings. You can review every message or messages from new members or non-members, and choose settings for rejected posts.
  7. Click Save.

Only people who have the "Approve messages" permission can moderate posts. Learn more about permissions.

Approve or deny pending posts

You can approve or deny posts before they appear to the group. If posts aren't approved within 7 days, they'll be deleted.

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. Click My Groups.
  3. Choose a group.
  4. Near the top right, click Settings Settings > Manage messages.

  1. To read a post, click the title.

  2. Check the box next to the post.

  3. At the top of the screen, select an option:

    • To approve the message, click Post Post.

    • To approve the post and automatically approve all future posts by that author, click Trust Allow future messages from author.

    • To ban the author or authors from the forum and report the message as spam, click Spam Spam.

    • To block the post, click Remove Remove.

Block people from replying to posts

You can create a new topic and prevent people from replying to it if you don’t want responses. You can do this if:

  • You're the owner of the group or have permission to lock posts AND
  • The group is a web forum (not an email list)

To block replies to a new topic: While you're creating the new topic, check the box next to "Lock."

Changing Other Email Options

From the Manage menu on the left, click Settings > Email Options. Under these options, you can:

  • Add a prefix to the subject line of all group posts
  • Add any information you want in the footer of each message posted to the group.  We recommend that you select “Display how to post to this group by email” and “Display how to unsubscribe from this group by email”.

Adding and Managing Members

From the Manage menu on the left, click Members. Under this section, you have these options and more:

  • Invite members - allows you to send someone an invitation to be a member of your group.
    1. Sign in to Google Groups.
    2. Click My Groups.
    3. Choose a group.
    4. Near the top right, click Manage.
    5. On the left, click Members  > Invite members.
    6. Enter the email addresses of people to invite.
      • Optional: Enter text in the "Write an invitation message" field.
    7. Click Send invites.

    To change pending invitations, click Manage  > Join requests.  Click Resend invitation or Revoke invitation.

  • Direct Add members - This allows you to directly add someone to your group without sending them an invitation. You can set their Email subscription option to Digest Email, All Email, Abridged Email, or No email. Warning: Do not add people this way unless they have already agreed to be in your Google Group.
    1. Sign in to Google Groups.
    2. Click My Groups.
    3. Choose a group.
    4. Near the top right, click Manage.
    5. On the left, click Members  > Direct add members.
    6. Enter the email addresses of the people to add.
    7. Enter a welcome message.
    8. Set how members will get email from the group.
    9. Click Add.
  • Advertise your group - you can invite people to join your group with a link. This example is a link for a group named BEST: https://groups.google.com/a/appstate.edu/forum/#!forum/group-BEST
  • Join Requests - if your group is set up so that people can ask to join, make sure to regularly view the join requests section and approve any users that have requested to join.
    1. Sign in to Google Groups.
    2. Click My Groups.
    3. Choose a group.
    4. Near the top right, click Manage.
    5. On the left, click Members  > Join requests.
    6. Check the box next to the person who wishes to join your group. Click Approve applicant or Reject applicant.
  • Remove a Member or a Manager - select All members, then check the box by their name. In the menu buttons at the top, select Actions > Remove from group or Remove from Role.

To make one of your members a fellow Manager, from the Manage menu on the left, click Roles > Roles > Manager > Add members and selecting the member you want to make a manager and Add. Make sure to select Save for the role change to take effect.

Adding and Managing Members

You can view all members, including members who have been banned.

  1. Sign in to Google Groups.
  2. Click My Groups.
  3. Choose a group.
  4. Near the top right, click Manage.
    • To see a list of current members, near the top left, click Members
    • To see a list of all banned members, near the top left, click Banned.
  5. To search by role, whether members are banned, and other features, use the search bar on the "Group Members" page. You need the "View members permission" to search by role.

Set Welcome Message for New members, and any Email Options:

  1. Click the Group name in the upper left corner and then click "Add Welcome Message".

  2. Type your welcome message in the field then click "Save" to share this message with new group members

Turn Archiving On/Off for a Group

As a group owner, you can keep posts in the online forum so members can view them any time. Group members might also get posts in the form of emails, depending on their group email settings.

If archiving is on, members who choose to get email updates can read and respond to posts using the online forum, email, or both. If they opt out of email updates, they can access posts online.

If you turn off message archiving for a group, old posts stay archived in the online forum. New posts aren’t added. Group members who get email updates can read and reply to them through email. Those who opt out of email updates can’t see new posts.

Steps to turn archiving on or off

  1. Go to Google Groups.
  2. Click My groups.
  3. Find the name of the group you want to edit and click Manage.
  4. On the left, click Information and then Content control.
  5. To turn archiving on, check the Archive messages to the group box. To turn it off, uncheck the box.
  6. Click Save.



Related Articles


Search Knowledge Base


Submit a Service Request