The table below describes what can be restored from Google Apps when items are accidentally deleted.

Google AppsRestore Limit and Process
Email

Users can restore email in the Trash folder within 30 days. Navigate to your Gmail Trash, click on the email you want to restore, click the "Move to" icon, and click your inbox or a folder to restore the email to.

ITS can restore an email that has been permanently deleted in the last 25 days if given a date range for the deleted email. All emails deleted in the date range will be restored.

See: https://support.google.com/mail/answer/7401?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&oco=0

Calendar

Users can restore calendar events deleted within the last 30 days by navigating to calendar.google.com, clicking the gear icon, selecting "Trash", and clicking the restore arrow next to the event you want to restore.

See: https://googleappsupdates.blogspot.com/2015/11/restore-deleted-events-in-google.html

In limited circumstances, ITS may be able to obtain an XML file for a deleted calendar so that users can manually re-enter information from the deleted calendar.

Drive and Docs

Users can restore files that are placed in the trash by right-clicking on the file or folder, and selecting "Restore".

See: https://support.google.com/drive/answer/2375102?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop

ITS can restore files that were permanently deleted in the last 25 days if given a date range when the file was deleted. All items deleted during the date range will be restored.

Sites

Users can restore a site deleted within 30 days by visiting drive.google.com, right-clicking on the deleted drive site, and clicking "Restore".

See: https://support.google.com/sites/answer/90598?hl=en

Contacts

Users can restore contacts deleted within the past 30 days, by navigating contact.google.com, clicking on the contact you want to restore, and then clicking "Recover".

See: https://support.google.com/contacts/answer/7280886?hl=en&ref_topic=9160153 

Tasks

Users can restore tasks deleted within the past 30 days, by clicking the gear icon, selecting "Trash", and clicking the restore arrow next to the task you want to restore.

See: https://support.google.com/mail/answer/106237?hl=en

For more on managing your files in Google drive, visit Google Support.

Related Articles


Search Knowledge Base

Submit a Service Request



Related issues