Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 2 Next »

Appalachian State University's IT currently follows the model of supporting the latest released version of macOS (following an internal testing period) and one version previous.

The currently supported operating system versions are: 

  • macOS 11 (Big Sur)
  • macOS 10.15 (Catalina) 

If your device is eligible for an upgrade, you may have received a macOS Upgrade Notification. You can view the macOS Upgrade Notifications article for more information about the notifications or continue with the steps below to upgrade macOS:


WARNING:

Upgrades, while generally very safe, do run minimal risk of data loss. Please ensure your data is backed up to another location before initiating any upgrade. One of our Desktop Support Specialists will be happy to assist with this process. Please visit tech.appstate.edu and submit a request for Computer Support.

Installing an Upgrade from Self Service

  1. In your Applications folder, launch the Self Service app.
  2. You will be greeted with the Featured page that shows new or recommended apps. From the Categories on the left, navigate to ASU-Operating Systems and select an upgrade option that is available from the list.
  3. Before proceeding, read the description which will detail any requirements or recommendations. 
  4. Click the Upgrade button to begin upgrading your Mac.

    Important:

    When you initiate an upgrade, your Mac will download necessary components and will need to restart to perform the installation. Before proceeding, save your current documents, quit any open applications, and copy all files and user data to another computer or backup drive. If this is a laptop, please connect to a charger at this time. This process could take an hour or more to complete and your Mac will be unavailable during this time.

  5. Self Service will prompt you one last time before it will initiate the upgrade. You cannot downgrade to a previous operating system once you upgrade.




Search Knowledge Base


Submit a Service Request




  • No labels